The invisible

Jesus, I have often wondered why You put such a premium on the invisible.  Seared in my memory is the time I desperately kept asking You, “Why are You invisible?  It would be so much easier to believe in You if I could see You, touch You, feel You!”  This thought popped into my head: “2 Cor 4:18.”  Had no idea what that said, so flipped to it and read Your direct answer to my question: “We do not look at the things which are seen, but at the things which are not seen.  For the things which are seen are temporary, but the things which are not seen are eternal.”

This rocked my world and forever changed the grid by which I looked at everything.  So everything I could see, everything tangible, was temporary.  Everything invisible, eternal.  I looked at my physical body differently after that.  I looked at the bed I was sitting on, the desk and chair in my bedroom, my house and car.  Everything I could see was temporary, in a state of decay.  Everything unseen, my spirit, God’s spirit, ideas.  These were eternal.

Leave a Reply

