To be astonished

Jesus, I want to have a heart that is astonished by who You are, captivated by Your multifaceted wisdom, fully alive to appreciate You.  I want to see miracles in the mundane, to be delighted in the treasures of every day life that are missed when my heart is dull.  I want to wonder as I look at the sunrise, the sunset and the normal daylight that shifts throughout the day.  I want to feel a jolt of excitement when I see a puppy or a child happy to be alive. I want to believe that You are One who does miracles even in the delayed answers to prayers. I do not want to pull back in believing to keep my heart from hurting…and when You answer these prayers and I finally see heaven in hellish places, I want to celebrate and keep celebrating into eternity.  This is my prayer.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

